3 Signs My Pet Loves Me

3 Simple ways pets can show us love ๐Ÿ˜ป

I have two terribly cute cats.

I could swear they smile at us at times and they really seem to be happy… content… satisfied… loved.

Am I seeing things?
I don’t think so.

These two cats that have somehow adopted me, have been in my care for close to two years now and are simply…

Adorable.

I truly believe they love me. 

How do I know they love me?

It’s debatable, but I know they love me because of a few reasons. 

Not just because I feed them, but because they KNOW they can trust that I won’t mortify or (worse) hurt them when it’s the most important time of the day…

Nap-time.

Or feeding time 

๐Ÿ˜ธ

There are plenty of ways animals can show their love for their owners:

  • Dogs usually wag a tail and come running.
  • But, cats, unfortunately, do not.

Sometimes it may be hard to tell whether they love us or not… 

 … But that’s because we may not be looking in the right direction.

To know if cats have a special love for their owners, we can check a few simple ways.

Of course, knowing how kitties behave differently than other animals can prove to be quite helpful.

Here are the three signs my little buddies show us love:

#1. THEY FOLLOW. 

Cats follow  us because they find comfort in it.

My boy, Pinty, has to follow me everywhere I go. Yes, even while I shower in the morning. He opens the door with his head as he pushes it through and in he goes!

He then begins going around in circles in the small room. Same thing when I’m inside a closet, or the spare room. Going downstairs? Down he goes. Sometimes beating me to the bottom step. ๐Ÿ˜น 

Much like dogs, cats will want to be near us, they like to settle where they get a good view. They’re little traffic-control watchdogs (err.. cats).

I think, also, Pinty wants to make sure he’s nearby so that he can be the first in line to get food.

It’s as if he’s saying, “Ma, just in case you care to share some food… I’m right here. OK?”

He-he.

#2. THEY TOUCH.

What is it with cats and their need to feel?

They’re pawing at things, they’re getting close to us, they give us nose kisses… sometimes rubbing themselves up against us, softly getting very close to us and their fur rubs against our legs, head-butting us while sitting on the sofa, etc.

Why is that?

Felines can show their affection toward their owners in countless touchy ways.

Their noses coming near us may seem scary but they’re just trying to get very close and sniff, sniff, sniff. Their sense of smell is incomparable. 

The rubbing against us, well, that little insignificant action is to let us know they are happy and show, in return, a little love. They’re also exchanging some scents with us, and that speaks volumes.

Kind of like how a perfume or a great smell (such as fresh baked cookies or pizza) may bring us comfort, their noses will recognize familiar territory if rubbed up on us. 

Pretty darn smart, if you ask me!

#3. THEY PURR, Purr, Purr Out Loud!

There is nothing quite like the sound of motor running near us, is there?

Well, from a cat only, of course.

Much more subtle, yet unmistakably comforting, the sound my cats make let me know they are happy!

I love when I pet them and they instantly purr. Since I pretty much talk to them all the time (while speaking for them) and asking them all sorts of silly questions for which I never get an answer… I do love the purring responses I often.

Even when I am not petting them, they usually purr just the same, if I say familiar phrases such as, “Aren’t you the sweetest kitty Mama loves?”

There goes the motor running…

Purr, purr, purr…

There are countless other ways a pet may show his/her appreciation for us but these are my favorite ones.

Now, when they do them all in a row … and sprinkle some kneading, squinting their precious little eyes and trotting toward us with their tail on high with a tiny curl at the end….

Now that’s what I call love!

 

  

So, since your pup or kitty cat really does care, cut him/her some slack next time they “misbehave.”

They’re really trying. And they’re showering us with tiny little gifts of “love” ๐Ÿ™‚

How does yours show you love?

 

 

Posted on May 24, 2016, in adopt pet, blog, cats, love, mothers, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Regarding the first photo … If you don’t mind me asking, do you have one leg only? And aren’t you afraid of getting white fluff on your black legging(s) (still don’t know if you actually have 2 legs and don’t want to assume anything)? Just wondering.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol no it’s two legs. And yes always full of cat hair! As I like to say I take my cats with me … They’re all over my clothes! But there’s dozens of lint rollers in my house, car, office, u name it ๐Ÿ˜น๐Ÿ˜น Thanks for stopping by and happy to read your comments!! Have a Pawsome day!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฝ๐Ÿ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  2. One or more cats hang out by the front door when I am gone for a long time, or perhaps, they aer waiting for me to come back to feed them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You are so right. I have surely seen our cat smiling. And our Kosmo walks just behind his Dad, now they are working together by the computer. The best sleeping medicine is to have a cat purrring loud in bed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Best sleeping medicine indeed. Kosmo sounds like my boy. When he thinks I’ve left the house I hear him call out “Hello? Hellooooo?” It almost sounds like! So adorable aren’t they? Can’t imagine a day without them ๐Ÿ˜ฝ๐Ÿ’•
      Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Very cute kitties. I prefer the way cats show love over the way dogs do. Purring is my favorite sound.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

