Cat Feeding Time! What You Should Know πŸŸ

LiasTONGUEOUT

Today is #TunaTuesday and its worthy to note my cats love eating.

And eating…

and then wanting to eat some more. Hehe πŸ˜‰

In fact, every time I go to the kitchen they magically appear beside me and circle around me much like sharks around its prey.

sharks

Like sharks they circle me…

But I’m curious. Is it ok to feed cats tuna or any kind of fish? And if so, how much?

Last night we made some salmon and my big boy Pint’ loved getting slivers of that tasty stuff. In fact, I think he was smiling. Imagine that! My cat smiles at me with that sweet look and his ears softly back. Love it!

However…

According to this article: No. And if you do, limit it. Here’s the exact quote:

Some tuna now and then probably won’t hurt. But a steady diet of tuna prepared for humans can lead to malnutrition because it won’t have all the nutrients a cat needs. And, too much tuna can cause mercury poisoning.

Canned and raw fish contains large amounts of mercury and thiaminase. This one is an enzyme present in raw fish that destroys thiamine and may produce thiamine deficiency in animals on a diet largely composed of raw fish (thiamine=Vitamin B1 –> A vitamin of the vitamin B complex, found in meat, yeast, and the bran coat of grains, and necessary for carbohydrate metabolism and normal neural activity).  

  No-Mercury

I do limit the amount of seafood my big boy eats. Lil’ Lia gets a negligible amount because she’s still technically a kitten.

INTAKE

I’ve had to adjust their food intake because frankly Pinty was looking too round and was sleeping and eating a lot. And I wouldn’t want him to get fat or obese!

pintyawn

Then what should they eat?

According to Catster.com The foundation of a healthy cat diet is flesh-based protein like meat, fish, or poultry. Dry food should be high in animal proteins, and low in plant proteins (which cats are ill-equipped to digest). Carbohydrates should make up no more than ten percent of the mix of cat food ingredients.

Some food for thought!

Posted on August 25, 2015, in blog, cat, food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Yes he did. I love when he slides the can around on the kitchen floor to get every last bite mew mew

    Like

  2. My kitteh, Rohke, had tuna today nom nom

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

