I Miss My Pet

rosest

Today is #ThrowbackThursday on Twitter.

I cant help but think of my wonderful Little Girl, our kitten named Rose, that I lost over a year ago.

Rose because of her incredibly pink nose and my love of roses… But my daughter at the time was in love with all past shows of Doctor Who. I recalled that one of his travel companions was named Rose and so the name stuck.

rose

My 500px photo of a rose

 

In the short time that we had her we grew to love her. So much that we snapped pictures of her everywhere we went. We took her to my moms and she loved the ride there and back.

Here are our favorite ones of her bouncy little self.

IMG_5057  IMG_5069 IMG_5088_1 IMG_5101 IMG_6549 IMG_6561 IMG_6622  IMG_6645 IMG_6647 IMG_6691  IMG_6726  IMG_6802 IMG_6838   IMG_7145 IMG_7256 IMG_7772 IMG_7803 IMG_7842 IMG_7868 IMG_7879 IMG_7984_1

This last one is the last picture we took of her. We miss that little girl!

I am comforted in knowing she is in a much better place now, although I think back often of that day when I found her collapsed in my foyer. So helpless. Such a gut-wrenching time for me to remember. Losing the sweet Little Girl (as we called her) was one of the toughest things I’ve had to go through, and I’ve gone through a lot.

I have lots of regrets.

All the things that run through my head!

All the “What ifs”

What if I had paid attention to the heavy breathing soon after running and dropping to rest on the ground.

What if I had seen the beautiful green eyes lose their color to a murky brown (signifying anemia or AIDS). We had rescued her from a very malnourished stray cat that was, as Rose was, flea-infested.

But in the end I have to breathe in and just realize that it happened for a reason. Who knows what that reason is?! I don’t think I will ever understand, though. We miss her terribly and she will be missed forever.

We hope to rescue a similar kitten soon. I know it will never replace her, but we have so much love to give that we have to at least help out and adopt a rescue kitten.

IMG_5190-ANIMATION

About Kay @KittyCat_Smile

Hi! I love in sunny south Florida. Best of all I'm a proud mom to a tall and talented girl and two very cool kittycats. I'm a cat-lover (kittens even better!), a self-proclaimed, awesome, shoe-hoarder (luv them heels). I enjoy being a freelance editor, an occasional photographer of roses and the ocean (what else is there?), and my profession is Paralegal - yes, my life is full. I love that you're reading this ;-)

Posted on June 11, 2015, in adopt, blog, cat, kittens, loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. She sure is a cutie!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know this feeling oh so well, so sorry for your loss. We lost 2 of our 7 rescues last year, the one little sweet girl, Reesey, was only 3, we miss her tremendously. They are such a huge part of your family it’s so hard when they part.

    Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Pets’ Birthdays are Cool, Let’s Celebrate! 🎂 | A Cat for a Smile

  2. Pingback: Meet and Greet – Boy Meets Girl | A Cat for a Smile

  3. Pingback: Picking a Name. Calling All Pets! | A Cat for a Smile

  4. Pingback: We Can Smile Again! | A Cat for a Smile

Leave a Reply

