How do I love thee? Let me count the ways

I have so loved every pet I have ever owned. The turtles. The rabbits. You name it, I’ve enjoyed each and every one of them.

I’m one of those people that cuddle them at random, pick them up often, and hold them like babies (see pic of my sister holding Pinty).

I ask them questions.

I tell them important information, including the not-so important as well… Why not?

I speak to them as I would a kid, because after all, they’re family!

kitten

Holding Pinty as a kitten

Holding Cat

Holding Cat

Cats can associate what you say to them with certain actions. For example, I ask, “Are you hungry?” as I’m about to feed him. He knows it so well that whenever I say that phrase he comes running. Same thing with the words “get the bug!” and “want tuna?” I love it.

They know.

When I took Pinty to the vet for the first time, he was behaving so good I didn’t need to say much to him, other than “good boy!”

Yet, another lady showed up after us with her gorgeous cat but never said a word to the very distressed cat who kept meowing. I felt so bad. A kind word or some petting would’ve helped, or did she not know?

carrycat

I titled this post like so, because I love that poem. It is perfectly written, evoking our very thoughts of love for someone else (in some cases our furry friends). Here is the complete poem:

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways…”

   by Elizabeth Barrett Browning (1806-1861)

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee to the depth and breadth and height
My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight
For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.
I love thee to the level of everyday’s
Most quiet need, by sun and candle-light.
I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;
I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.
I love thee with a passion put to use
In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.
I love thee with a love I seemed to lose
With my lost saints, — I love thee with the breath,
Smiles, tears, of all my life! — and, if God choose,
I shall but love thee better after death.

Love it!

About Kay @KittyCat_Smile

Hi! I love in sunny south Florida. Best of all I'm a proud mom to a tall and talented girl and two very cool kittycats. I'm a cat-lover (kittens even better!), a self-proclaimed, awesome, shoe-hoarder (luv them heels). I enjoy being a freelance editor, an occasional photographer of roses and the ocean (what else is there?), and my profession is Paralegal - yes, my life is full. I love that you're reading this ;-)

Posted on June 1, 2015, in animals, blog, Family, poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thank you for liking “Blue” and for bringing me here. Cats are the best! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Our cat gave a birth for three little pocket tigers :))

    Like

  3. I talk to my cats all the time and they usually talk back. They definitely understand certain words, usually the food related ones. If I ask Sammie if she wants some treats, she goes straight to the cupboard 😛

    Like

  4. Awww…such a sweet kitty. I also talk with Granny all the time, she says I’m her baby too 😀 Pawkisses for a Happy Day 🙂 ❤

    Like

  5. Ahhhhhhh! From one cat lover to another!

    Like

Leave a Reply

