Amazing Cats. Here Are the Facts

Animals can be cute and smart, but most of all they are amazing. Yep.

Kitten texting on iPhone

Cute and smart!

We all know how wonderful domesticated animals are as pets. They help us in so many ways. In a previous post (here) I detailed some of the most important reasons to have them and how beneficial they are to us 🙂

housecat

And since they are so adorable and funny, not to mention entertaining, (and I am partially biased to my feline friends *meow*) I have gathered lots of very interesting facts about them, proving just how amazing they are. Let me share some.

Did you know…

1.   They’re smarter than we think. They’ve been recruited by the CIA (in the 60s) as spies haha! That’s why, I believe, the French sent one to outer space in 1963! Ok, dogs may possibly win at this one, but animals in general sure can solve problems fast, making them truly amazing in my book.

2.   Cats can outrun you as they bolt by at 30 mph (48 kph). How fast can humans run? I can barely jog at 7-8 mph, but a runner sprinting can average 25+ mph.

3.   Pets are extra sensitive, they can sense danger, such as earthquakes! Could it be due to their highly sensitive paws? Perhaps. But it is amazing how they do that. Notice how this cat knows even before the earthquake happens:
senses

4.   They love heights, the sun, and making friends as much as (or more than) humans do! tree

5.   They can grow very, very big. Ok, only if you overfeed them. But there are species, such as the Maine Coon, that can grow quite huge. Stewie, holding the record for longest cat, is 48 inches long (that is over 4 feet in length!)

6.   Their front paws have five toes, their back paws only four! Their claws allow them to climb just about anything, even legs 😉

7.   Cats have excellent hearing (better than a dog’s), a powerful sense of smell, but these night creatures have … Better night vision than humans and worse at the same time! For our eyes to see what they see in the dark 🙂 It’s worse because they don’t see the range of colors humans do.

8.   They have human-like emotions. Yep. Cats can seem to have the biggest attitudes. They get happy, excited, playful, and frisky, they get upset and can even show their anger.

cats oh my

What other animal do you know that can do all of that?

So there you have it. Some very cool facts that makes our cats so incredibly amazing.

About Kay @KittyCat_Smile

Hi! I love in sunny south Florida. Best of all I'm a proud mom to a tall and talented girl and two very cool kittycats. I'm a cat-lover (kittens even better!), a self-proclaimed, awesome, shoe-hoarder (luv them heels). I enjoy being a freelance editor, an occasional photographer of roses and the ocean (what else is there?), and my profession is Paralegal - yes, my life is full. I love that you're reading this ;-)

Posted on May 27, 2015, in animals, blog, cats, facts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You have a WONDERFUL blog! I’m so glad I found you today! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

