Hello “Cat” world! (Meow)

Not everyone likes cats.

I personally didn’t like them until my daughter wanted a pet and all other tries with animals miserably failed.

We ended up having to give up a rabbit, a guinea pig, and fish. Yes, fish. The idea of having gerbils, mice (yes, she wanted a cute little mouse), snakes (I shudder at the thought)… The list just goes on and on… But, I just couldn’t.

A lovely little kitten would be fantastic.

I can do this!

“But mom,” she’d ask, “why can’t we have a cute puppyyyyy????”

The incessant asking drove me bonkers. I had to remind her that every time we “babysat” (or rather doggy-sat) for our neighbors’ dog, it was I who had to walk the sweet little thing. Come rain or shine. Come happy or sad. Come late for work, school, what-have-you. The feeding part was ok, but the walking with a pooper-scooper three-to-five times a day, during pouring rain or particularly windy days, or blistering heat, or just plain when I didn’t want to, was just NOT OK. What could we get that didn’t need any walking?

A cat. A sweet looking one.

So, after much deliberation, off we went to visit local pet shelters. There is cage after cage of sweet dogs and cats, (I swear there is one for every person!) but we found one kitten that won our hearts right away.

Tiger. He was our first kitty cat.

Now, I agree, these animals aren’t always the friendliest, and may not react to everyone. Yes, I admit it takes some time to warm up to them. But, in the end, they are so darn cute and really are very lovable!

They purr when near you, when you pet them, when you hold them. They instantly put a smile on my face whenever I come home and there he is: that sweet boy, waiting by the window and as soon walking in he greets me at the door.

DSC_0454

Our cat is part of the family. I’ll show you through my blog just how adorable our second cat is (the first one went to live with my ex-husband, but we got a clone! Strange story you’ll see.)

I encourage everyone to give cats a chance. Even my mom fell in love with our kitten once we brought her over… And she’s definitely no cat-person. 😉

So, adopt one if you can and don’t be afraid of being called the cat-lady or a cat-person.

We’re not THAT weird *Smile* *Wink* *Smile*

It’s easy to get along with most everyone after owning a cat. They are especially helpful for getting used to people’s different attitudes.

And, well, life is just much better when you love a pet; and in my case, a darn cute smiling cat.

Our cat, part of the family forever.

Our cat, part of the family forever.

About Kay @KittyCat_Smile

Hi! I love in sunny south Florida. Best of all I'm a proud mom to a tall and talented girl and two very cool kittycats. I'm a cat-lover (kittens even better!), a self-proclaimed, awesome, shoe-hoarder (luv them heels). I enjoy being a freelance editor, an occasional photographer of roses and the ocean (what else is there?), and my profession is Paralegal - yes, my life is full. I love that you're reading this ;-)

Posted on May 3, 2015, in animals, blog, cat, encouragement, pets, photography, rescue, shelter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

